Spring Hill vs Villages of Avalon

Two Hernando communities, compared on the numbers that decide it — price, pace, and supply — from live MLS data as of 2026-09-19.

MetricSpring HillVillages of Avalon
Median sale price$293K$330K
Price per sq ftn/a$175
Avg days on marketn/a74 days
Months of supply0 mo3.5 mo
MarketBuyer-Leaning Market (limited data)Balanced Market
1-year price changeFalseFalse
Recent closings031

The verdict

Villages of Avalon carries the higher median price — about 13% above Spring Hill.

Where each one is

Spring HillVillages of Avalon
CountyAlachua County, FLHernando County, FL
City / areaGainesvilleSpring Hill
ZIP32038, 32641, 3264334609
FEMA flood zones (sampled parcels)not enough parcels sampledall 24 sampled homes outside a flood zone

Distances are straight-line; driving distance is usually 15 to 30 percent more. Flood-zone shares come from FEMA flood maps matched to sampled parcels; always check the exact address before you close.

What is for sale today

Spring HillVillages of Avalon
Homes for sale now09
Under contract03
Property types listed-Single Family Residence

Live MLS counts, refreshed with every listing pull. Browse them: Spring Hill homes for sale · Villages of Avalon homes for sale.

The homes themselves

Spring HillVillages of Avalon
Homes (parcels)512660
Built1900–2024 (median 1964)2006–2022 (median 2016)
Typical living area1,249 sq ft2,655 sq ft
Homesteaded (owner-occupied) share57%71%
Vacant lots180

Housing-stock figures from the Florida Department of Revenue 2025 assessment roll (public records).

How each one trades

Spring HillVillages of Avalon
Sale-to-original-list89.5%97.6%
New-construction share of sales33%0%
Typical sold home1,620 sq ft1,939 sq ft

Last 12 months of recorded closings; sale-to-original-list is the share of the first asking price sellers actually got.

Schools the listings are zoned for

Spring HillVillages of Avalon
Elementarynot reportedSuncoast Elementary
Middlenot reportedPowell Middle
High schoolnot reportedNatures Coast Technical High School

The school most often recorded on each community's MLS listings. Always confirm a specific address with the district.

Which one fits

On budget alone, Spring Hill is the lower entry point (median $293K vs $330K). Buyers who want newer construction (fewer near-term roof, HVAC and re-plumb items, and easier insurance quotes in Florida) will find it in Villages of Avalon; Spring Hill trades that for a more established street and, typically, larger lots.

Neither number set decides it: drive both on a weekday evening, check the HOA documents and the flood zone for the exact street, and price the insurance before you write an offer. A Momentum agent who works both communities can pull the comparable sales for any two specific homes.

Questions people ask

Is Villages of Avalon more expensive than Spring Hill?

Yes, on recent sales: the median sale price in Villages of Avalon is $330,000 versus $293,000 in Spring Hill, about 13% higher.

Are Spring Hill and Villages of Avalon in the same county?

No. Spring Hill is in Alachua County and Villages of Avalon is in Hernando County; property-tax rates, school districts and permitting differ between the two.

Which has newer homes, Spring Hill or Villages of Avalon?

Villages of Avalon: its homes were built 2006–2022 with a median year of 2016, versus a median of 1964 in Spring Hill (Florida DOR assessment roll).

Which has bigger homes?

Villages of Avalon. The typical home there is 2,655 sq ft of living area, versus 1,249 sq ft in Spring Hill.

Where do sellers get closer to asking price?

Villages of Avalon — sellers there received 97.6% of the original list price over the last 12 months versus 89.5% in Spring Hill.

Go deeper on each: Spring Hill homes, photos & schools  ·  Villages of Avalon homes, photos & schools

Figures are aggregates from realMLS / DBAAR, updated regularly. Thinking about either? Talk to Momentum Realty.