Spring Hill vs Villages at Avalon
Two Hernando communities, compared on the numbers that decide it — price, pace, and supply — from live MLS data as of 2026-09-19.
| Metric | Spring Hill | Villages at Avalon |
|---|---|---|
| Median sale price | $293K | $340K |
| Price per sq ft | n/a | $186 |
| Avg days on market | n/a | 72 days |
| Months of supply | 0 mo | 4.0 mo |
| Market | Buyer-Leaning Market (limited data) | Balanced Market (limited data) |
| 1-year price change | False | False |
| Recent closings | 0 | 3 |
The verdict
Villages at Avalon carries the higher median price — about 16% above Spring Hill.
Where each one is
| Spring Hill | Villages at Avalon | |
|---|---|---|
| County | Alachua County, FL | Hernando County, FL |
| City / area | Gainesville | Spring Hill |
| ZIP | 32038, 32641, 32643 | 34609 |
Distances are straight-line; driving distance is usually 15 to 30 percent more. Flood-zone shares come from FEMA flood maps matched to sampled parcels; always check the exact address before you close.
What is for sale today
| Spring Hill | Villages at Avalon | |
|---|---|---|
| Homes for sale now | 0 | 1 |
| Under contract | 0 | 1 |
| Property types listed | - | Single Family Residence |
Live MLS counts, refreshed with every listing pull. Browse them: Spring Hill homes for sale · Villages at Avalon homes for sale.
The homes themselves
| Spring Hill | Villages at Avalon | |
|---|---|---|
| Homes (parcels) | 512 | 284 |
| Built | 1900–2024 (median 1964) | 2006–2020 (median 2008) |
| Typical living area | 1,249 sq ft | 2,760 sq ft |
| Homesteaded (owner-occupied) share | 57% | 76% |
| Vacant lots | 18 | 0 |
Housing-stock figures from the Florida Department of Revenue 2025 assessment roll (public records).
Price history, year by year
| Year | Spring Hill median | Villages at Avalon median |
|---|---|---|
| 2023 | $200K (3 sales) | $386K (8 sales) |
| 2024 | $226K (4 sales) | $362K (20 sales) |
| 2026 | $293K (3 sales) | $353K (19 sales) |
Since 2023, Spring Hill's median sale price is +46% and Villages at Avalon's is -9% — Spring Hill has appreciated faster over that stretch.
How each one trades
| Spring Hill | Villages at Avalon | |
|---|---|---|
| Sale-to-original-list | 89.5% | 94.1% |
| New-construction share of sales | 33% | 0% |
| Typical sold home | 1,620 sq ft | 2,185 sq ft |
Last 12 months of recorded closings; sale-to-original-list is the share of the first asking price sellers actually got.
Schools the listings are zoned for
| Spring Hill | Villages at Avalon | |
|---|---|---|
| Elementary | not reported | Suncoast Elementary |
| Middle | not reported | Powell Middle |
| High school | not reported | Natures Coast Technical High School |
The school most often recorded on each community's MLS listings. Always confirm a specific address with the district.
Which one fits
On budget alone, Spring Hill is the lower entry point (median $293K vs $340K). Buyers who want newer construction (fewer near-term roof, HVAC and re-plumb items, and easier insurance quotes in Florida) will find it in Villages at Avalon; Spring Hill trades that for a more established street and, typically, larger lots.
Neither number set decides it: drive both on a weekday evening, check the HOA documents and the flood zone for the exact street, and price the insurance before you write an offer. A Momentum agent who works both communities can pull the comparable sales for any two specific homes.
Questions people ask
Is Villages at Avalon more expensive than Spring Hill?
Yes, on recent sales: the median sale price in Villages at Avalon is $340,000 versus $293,000 in Spring Hill, about 16% higher.
Are Spring Hill and Villages at Avalon in the same county?
No. Spring Hill is in Alachua County and Villages at Avalon is in Hernando County; property-tax rates, school districts and permitting differ between the two.
Which has newer homes, Spring Hill or Villages at Avalon?
Villages at Avalon: its homes were built 2006–2020 with a median year of 2008, versus a median of 1964 in Spring Hill (Florida DOR assessment roll).
Which has bigger homes?
Villages at Avalon. The typical home there is 2,760 sq ft of living area, versus 1,249 sq ft in Spring Hill.
Which has appreciated more, Spring Hill or Villages at Avalon?
From 2023 to 2026 the median sale price rose 46% in Spring Hill and -9% in Villages at Avalon (recorded MLS closings by calendar year).
Where do sellers get closer to asking price?
Villages at Avalon — sellers there received 94.1% of the original list price over the last 12 months versus 89.5% in Spring Hill.
Go deeper on each: Spring Hill homes, photos & schools · Villages at Avalon homes, photos & schools
Figures are aggregates from realMLS / DBAAR, updated regularly. Thinking about either? Talk to Momentum Realty.
